Purdue Boilermakers

About Purdue Boilermakers

The Purdue Boilermakers have a history dating back to their first intercollegiate game in 1887. The team, which represents Purdue University, has been successful on the field and has produced 184 NFL draft selections and four eventual Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees. The Boilermakers' main rivals inclue the Illinois Fighting Illini, the Indiana Hoosiers, the Iowa Hawkeyes and the Notre Dame Fighting Irish. The rivalry with Indiana has traditionally been seen as their biggest rivalry, with the two teams competing for the Old Oaken Bucket.

Although they have never been crowned as National Champions, Purdue have completed five unbeaten seasons throughout history. The first occurred in 1891, when they finished with a 4–0 record. The following year, they went 8-0; a feat which was repeated in the 1929 season. In 1932, they posted a 7–0–1 record and in 1943, they finished the season with a record of 9-0.

In addition, the team have earned twelve Conference Championships, which consists of four Indiana Intercollegiate Athletic Association wins and eight Big Ten Conference titles. Their most recent win came in the 2000 Big Ten Conference. Purdue have made 17 appearances in bowl games and currently hold a 9-8 record in them.

Len Dawson, Bob Griese, Hank Stram and Rod Woodson have all been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, while other notable former players include Mike Phipps and Mark Herrmann. Both Phipps and Herrmann won the Sammy Baugh Trophy and were inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Since its opening in 1924, the team have played their home games at Ross–Ade Stadium. The venue has been expanded and renovated several times, including in the earl...

Loading ...