Founded In
Queretaro, Mexico

About Querétaro

Querétaro Fútbol Club was established in 1950, to coincide with the expansion of the Mexican league system, which took place in the same year. Nicknamed the Gallos Blancos, which translates to 'White Roosters', the club achieved its most recent promotion to the top division at the conclusion of the 2008-09 season. The team's main rivals include San Luis, Club León and Club Atlas.

When the nation's second tier, the Segunda División, was created, the city of Querétaro received an invitation to put forward a team to represent them in the league. A tournament was organised between several clubs from the city and the eventual winners, Los Piratas, became a founding member of the Segunda División. They adopted the name Club Querétaro A.C. and eventually became Querétaro Fútbol Club.

Major domestic and international honours have been beyond the reach of Querétaro so far. Instead, the club have had to settle for a number of secondary trophies. In total, they have claimed three Ascenso MX titles, with the wins coming in 2005, 2006 and 2008. In both 2006 and 2009, the team won their promotional play-off matches to advance to the top division.

A string of Mexican international players, such as Luis Hernández, Sergio Almaguer, Carlos Ochoa and Joel Sánchez, have played for the side over the years. Other notable players to have played for Querétaro include the Uruguayan striker Carlos Bueno, as well as Mauro Néstor Gerk, who was a prolific goalscorer for the side in the 2000s.

The team play their home games at the Estadio Corregidora, which has served as Querétaro's home since its opening back in 1985. The stadium was used as one of the venues when Mexico hosted the 1986 FIFA World Cup and is currently able to hold up to 45,575 spectators for the club's matches.   

Loading ...