Founded In
Randers, Denmark

About Randers

Odense Boldklub, usually known as OB and occasionally known as Odense BK, was established in July 1887 as a cricket club. The football department of the sports club came into effect two years later and has spent most of its existence in the top division of the Danish football league system, completing over 50 top flight seasons. Historically, the club's main local rivals have included Boldklubben 1909 and Boldklubben 1913, although both teams now play outside the country's top tier.

The team's golden era began in the late 1970s, lasted throughout the 1980s and ended in the early 1990s. In 1977, OB had their first taste of major national success, as they were crowned league champions. A second league success followed in 1982 and then, in 1983, OB finished in 2nd place but lifted the Danish Cup for the first time. Their third league success came about in 1989, while further Danish Cup successes occurred in 1991 and 1993.

Since that golden era, OB have enjoyed further success in the Danish Cup, lifting the trophy in 2002 and 2007 to take their total haul to five. In recent seasons, the club have began challenging for league honours again, finishing as runners up in three consecutive seasons in 2009, 2010 and 2011 and entering the UEFA Champions League for the 2011-12 campaign.

A number of Danish international players have represented OB over the years, including Allan Hansen, Keld Bordinggaard, Per Pedersen and Hans Henrik Andreasen. Notable foreign imports have included Nigerian international Peter Utaka and Senegal international Baye Djiby Fall.

The team currently play their home matches at TRE-FOR Park, formerly known as Odense Stadion and Fionia Park. The stadium first opened its doors in 1941 and underwent renovations in 1997. From 2011 to 2012, the now-defunct FC Fyn also used the venue as their home ground. At present, TRE-FOR Park can hold up to 15,633 supporters.

Loading ...