Real Valladolid

Founded In
Valladolid, Spain

About Real Valladolid

Real Valladolid Club de Fútbol was founded in 1928 as a result of the merger of Club Deportivo Español and Real Union Deportiva de Valladolid. The team made their debut in the top tier of the Spanish league system in 1948–49, having won the Segunda División the previous season. Based on total accumulative league points gained since La Liga's inception, the club is currently ranked 14th.

In 1949–50, Real Valladolid reached the Copa del Rey final, eventually losing 4-1 to Athletic Bilbao. The 1962–63 season saw Real Valladolid achieve their highest ever league finish of 4th. The 1970s represent the lowest point in the club's history, with the team being relegated to the third division.

The club's only major trophy win took place in 1983–84, when Real Valladolid won the now defunct Copa de La Liga, beating Atlético Madrid 3-0 on aggregate. Valladolid set records with their Segunda División camapign in 2006-07, going 29 matches unbeaten and reaching a record breaking 88 points in total, earning promotion back to the top flight as a result.

Legendary figures associated with the club include José Luis Saso, who played as a goalkeeper before eventually becoming the team's president, Croatian international Alen Peternac, the club's record goal scorer and Alberto Marcos Rey, who served the club for 15 consecutive seasons, becoming their all time record appearance maker in the process.

The team plays its home matches at the Estadio Nuevo José Zorrilla, named after the famous Spanish romantic poet José Zorrilla. The stadium was built in 1982 and currently has a total capacity of 26,512. The ground hosted three matches during the 1982 World Cup, as well as the Copa del Rey final in the same year. Real Valladolid are currently hoping to expand the stadium's total capacity to around 40,000 as part of the Valladolid Arena project. 

Loading ...