Real Zaragoza

Founded In
Zaragoza, Spain

About Real Zaragoza

Real Zaragoza was founded in 1932 from the ashes of two rival clubs, Zaragoza and Iberia. The club made its first La Liga appearance in 1939, after the Spanish Civil War had prevented football from being played for three years.

During the 1960s, Zaragoza entered what is commonly known as the club's golden era, during which it showcased some of the best footballers the country had to offer. Nicknamed Los Magníficos, Zaragoza finished in the top five in every season between the 1960–61 season and the 1968–69 season, although they failed to win a league title during this time.

However, the club has enjoyed some significant success. During the golden era of the 1960s, Real Zaragoza won two Copa del Rey trophies, as well as the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup in 1963-64, defeating fellow Spaniards Valencia in the final. Further Copa del Rey successes occured in 1993–94, 2000–01 and 2003–04. Arguably, Zaragoza's finest hour came in the 1994-95 season, when they won the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, beating Arsenal in the final. The match was won in extra time, thanks to a famous and spectacular long-range effort from Nayim.

Over the years, Real Zaragoza has housed some big-name footballers, including Cafu, Diego Milito, Fernando Morientes, Gerard Piqué, Frank Rijkaard and David Villa. However, legendary figures associated with the club include names like Xavier Aguado, Miguel Pardeza and Marcelino Martínez, the club's all time record goal scorer.

Since 1957, the club has played home matches at La Romareda. The stadium became an all-seater ground in 1994 and currently has a capacity of 34,596. Prior to this, it had hosted football matches during the 1982 World Cup and the 1992 Summer Olympic Games. Plans to increase the stadium's capacity were put on hold indefinitely after a successful legal challenge in 2006. 

Loading ...