Christopher Smith

Record Number Of Early Entrants Grows

Created on Jan. 08, 2014 2:30 PM EST

Eligible non-seniors have until Jan. 15 to declare for the NFL draft, and already more than 75 players have announced intentions to do so, breaking last year's record of 73.

To declare, a player must be three years removed from high school and submit an application renouncing his remaining college eligibility.

According to CBS Sports, the previous all-time highs of 73 ('13) and 65 ('12) will become ancient history as players announce their intentions to head for the NFL seemingly by the hour.

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and UCLA quarterback Brett Hundley are among the biggest names who decided to return to college for the 2014 season.

NFL scouts typically do not focus on evaluating non-seniors until they declare because of the possibility they'll return to school, leading to a wasted evaluation, but it will be interesting to see if that policy shifts as we inevitably approach 100 non-seniors in the draft pool.

Here is a partial list of some of the best non-seniors who reportedly will declare for the draft by position.


Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Blake Bortles, UCF
Brett Smith, Wyoming

Running Backs

Bishop Sankey, Washington
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor
Storm Johnson, UCF
Kapri Bibbs, Colorado State
De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Henry Josey, Missouri


Sammy Watkins, Clemson
Marqise Lee, USC
Mike Evans, Texas A&M
Allen Robinson, Penn State
Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
Jarvis Landry, LSU
Paul Richardson, Colorado
Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss
Davante Adams, Fresno State

Tight Ends

Eric Ebron, North Carolina
Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
Jace Amaro, Texas Tech
Colt Lyerla, Oregon

Offensive Linemen

Greg Robinson, Auburn
Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
Marcus Martin, USC
Xavier Su'a-Filo,UCLA

Defensive Ends

Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
Kony Ealy, Missouri
Scott Crichton, Oregon State

Defensive Tackles

Louis Nix, Notre Dame
Ego Ferguson, LSU
Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina
Anthony Johnson, LSU


Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut


Bradley Roby, Ohio State
Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
Marcus Roberson, Florida


Dion Bailey, USC
Calvin Pryor, Louisville

Loading ...