Rice Owls

About Rice Owls

The Rice Owls football team have been active in the intercollegiate game since 1912 and represent Rice University. Throughout history, the team have been successful on the field and the program has produced several playes for the National Football League. The team's main rivals include the SMU Mustangs, the Houston Cougars and the Texas Longhorns.

Rice spent much of their history in the Southwest Conference, playing in the league from 1915 until 1995. From 1996 to 2004, the Owls competed in the Western Athletic Conference and since 2005, they have been part of Conference USA, where they currently compete in the Western Division.

Over the years, Rice have amassed seven Conference Championships, all coming during their spell in the Southwest Conference. These successes came in 1934, 1937, 1946, 1949, 1953, 1957 and 1994. The team have competed in ten post-season bowl games and currently hold a 6-4 winning record. This includes wins in their first four bowl games; the 1938 Cotton Bowl Classic, the 1947 Orange Bowl, the 1950 Cotton Bowl Classic and the 1954 Cotton Bowl Classic. Their most recent victory came in the 2012 Armed Forces Bowl Bowl.

James 'Froggy' Williams, Bill Wallace, Dick Maegle, Weldon Humble and Buddy Dial are amongst the notable players to come through the program. All five players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, while Williams, Maegle, Humble and Dial were consensus All-America selections.

Since its opening in 1950, the team have played their home games at Rice Stadium. It currently holds up to 47,000 spectators, although the stadium can be reconfigured to its original capacity of 70,000. The venue is also notable for hosting ...

Loading ...