Ross County

Founded In
Dingwall, Scotland

About Ross County

Ross County Football Club was first established in 1929, after Dingwall Victoria United's application to enter the Highland Football League was accepted. This led to the club rebranding itself as Ross County. The team's biggest rivals are Inverness Caledonian Thistle, with the two teams contesting the Highland derby.

Most of the club's history has been spent in the Highland Football League. In 1994, after a league restructure, Ross County were voted into the Third Division of the Scottish Football League. The club soon embarked upon its climb up the divisions, achieving promotion to the Second Division in 1999 and reaching the First Division for the first time in 2000. After bouncing between the divisions for a few years, the club finally reached the top flight of the Scottish league system by being crowned champions of the First Division in 2011-12, winning the division by a record margin of 24 points and losing only one game over the course of the campaign.

Aside from being crowned First Division champions, major silverware has largely been beyond the club's reach. In 2006–07 and 2010–11 the club lifted the Football League Challenge Cup and the team won the Highland Football League on three occasions, in 1967, 1991 and 1992. The closest Ross County have came to a major national honour was a Scottish Cup final appearance in 2009-10, but they were eventually beaten by Dundee United.

Some of the more notable players to have represented Ross County include David Hannah, Iain Vigurs, Colin McMenamin and Grant Munro. Former England international, Mark Hateley, also had a brief spell with the team at the end of his playing career.

Ross County play their home games at Victoria Park, which is officially known as the Global Energy Stadium due to the club selling the naming rights. The all-seater stadium is able to hold a maximum of 6,310 supporters.   

Loading ...