Rutgers Scarlet Knights

About Rutgers Scarlet Knights

The Rutgers Scarlet Knights represent Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey and are one of the most historic and significant football teams in the United States. Rutgers is often referred to as the 'Birthplace of College Football' and the team was officially established in 1869. Their main rivals include the Army Black Knights, the Syracuse Orange and the Navy Midshipmen.

Back in 1869, Rutgers competed in what is widely regarded to be the first intercollegiate football game ever played, against Princeton University. After winning 6-4, they lost the return game 8-0. A planned third game between the two teams was eventually cancelled due to concerns that it would interfere with the academic studies of the students. Therefore, both teams finished the season with a 1-1 record and, while Princeton had outscored Rutgers over the two games, many consider the teams to have shared the first ever National Championship.

In addition to their one claimed National Title, Rutgers have won three Middle Atlantic Conference Championships, with those wins coming in 1958, 1960 and 1961. In 2012, they became Big East Conference Champions for the first time. In total, the Scarlet Knights have made eight appearances in post-season bowl games and currently hold a 5-3 record in them.

Notable former players include names like Paul Robeson, Homer Hazel, Terrell Willis, Bruce Presley and Ray Rice. Robeson and Hazel have subsequently been enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame, while Rice went on to become a Super Bowl champion with the Baltimore Ravens at Super Bowl XLVII.

Rutgers play their home games at High Point Solutions Stadium, which was formerly known as Rutgers Stadium. ...

Loading ...