Founded In
Wals-Siezenheim, Austria

About Salzburg

Football Club Red Bull Salzburg was founded in 1933 as Austria Salzburg and adopted their current identity in 2005, after a takeover. The team takes its current name from a sponsorship deal with the Red Bull energy drinks company. However, due to UEFA regulations, which outlaw such sponsorship, the club operates under the name FC Salzburg in European competitions.

Traditionally, Austria Salzburg played in violet and white and those colours also made up the club crest. After the takeover in 2005, Red Bull rebranded the club and decided to remove all traces of the club's previous history, including changing its crest and club colours. As a result of this, many of the team's supporters objected to the changes and eventually went on to form a new club, SV Austria Salzburg, who currently compete in the lower leagues.

During the 1990s, the club experienced major success in the form of league title wins in 1993–94, 1994–95 and 1996–97. Since the Red Bull takeover, the club has enjoyed even greater levels of success, winning additional league titles in 2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10 and 2011–12. The 2011-12 season also saw the team lift the Austrian Cup for the first time, completing a historic league and cup double. As a result of their consistent league performances, they have made regular appearances in the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League. Their best performance in a European tournament came in the 1994 UEFA Cup, where they finished as runners up.

Some of the most notable players to play for the club since the re-brand include Alexander Zickler, Marc Janko and Jonathan Soriano.

Salzburg play their home matches at Red Bull Arena, which was previously known as EM Stadion Wals-Siezenheim. The venue, which opened in 2003, is able to hold up to 31,895 supporters.

Loading ...