San Diego Chargers

About San Diego Chargers

The San Diego Chargers were first established in 1959 and began play in the American Football League in 1960. Originally owned by Barron Hilton, the team spent the first year of its existence in Los Angeles before moving to San Diego before the 1961 season. The Chargers joined the National Football League in 1970.

The 1994 season is regarded as a special one for the Chargers, who overachieved in the eyes of many pundits and fans. After achieving an 11-5 record for the season, the Chargers scored a surprise victory over the Miami Dolphins and then defeated the Pittsburgh Steelers in the AFC Championship Game by a score of 17-13. The result meant that the Chargers would make their first-ever Super Bowl appearance in Super Bowl XXIX. However, they were comfortably beaten by the San Francisco 49ers 49-26.

The Chargers won their first and only league championship in the 1963 American Football League season, beating the Boston Patriots 51-10 in a dominating performance to claim the title. Since entering the NFL, the team has won one Conference Championship, 10 Division Championships and the Chargers have made 12 playoff appearances. When these achievements are combined with their AFL seasons in the 1960s, the franchise has won 15 Division Championships and have reached the playoffs 18 times.

San Diego Chargers Championships

AFL Championships

  • 1963: San Diego Chargers 51, Boston Patriots 10

Notable Chargers Players

  • Lance Alworth
  • Ron Mix
  • Dan Fouts
  • Kellen Winslow
  • Charlie Joiner
  • Fred Dean
  • Junior Seau
  • Rodney Harrison
  • LaDainian Tomlinson
  • Kris Dielman

Qualcomm Stadium

The Chargers have played their home games at Qualcomm Stadium since 1967. The...

Loading ...