San Diego State Aztecs

About San Diego State Aztecs

The San Diego State Aztecs football program has existed since 1921 and represents San Diego State University. The Aztecs currently compete in the Mountain West Conference. Historically, the team have enjoyed some significant on-the-field success, producing 11 consensus All-Americans and winning several titles.

Their main rivals are the Fresno State Bulldogs, with whom they contest the 'Battle for the Oil Can'. The rivalry dates back to the first meeting between the teams in 1923 and SDSU currently lead the series. Over the years, the Brigham Young Cougars have also been a major rival, however the Cougars left the Mountain West Conference in 2011, rendering the rivalry inactive.

In total, San Diego State have won 19 Conference Championships, including five wins in the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference and one win in the Western Athletic Conference. In 2012, they picked up their first title in the Mountain West Conference. In addition, the team have won three National Championships at small college division level and have appeared in eleven bowl games. At present, they hold a post-season bowl record of 5-6, with their most recent appearance coming in the 2012 Poinsettia Bowl, where they lost to the Brigham Young Cougars.

A number of the program's alumni have gone on to achieve success in the National Football League, including Marshall Faulk, Isaac Curtis, Brian Sipe and Kassim Osgood. All four players were named as members of the Pro Bowl. In 2011, Faulk was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Qualcomm Stadium, formerly known as San Diego Jack Murphy Stadium, has served as the team's home since its opening in 1967. The venue is also home to the San Diego Charg...

Loading ...