San Francisco 49ers

About San Francisco 49ers

Founded in 1946, the San Francisco 49ers started out in the All-America Football Conference before joining the National Football League prior to the 1950 season. Since entering the NFL, the 49ers have gone on to become one of the league's most successful teams. The team's biggest rivals are the Seattle Seahawks, Dallas Cowboys, and Arizona Cardinals.

After the merger between the NFL and AFL, the San Francisco 49ers won three consecutive NFC West titles in 1970, 1971 and 1972. After building upon this success, the team enjoyed a hugely successful season in 1981, eventually making it to Super Bowl XVI. This was the franchise’s first ever Super Bowl, and they played the AFC Champion Cincinnati Bengals. The 49ers won the game 26-21 to claim their first ever NFL Championship.

Subsequent Super Bowl victories occurred at Super Bowl XIX, Super Bowl XXIII, Super Bowl XXIV and Super Bowl XXIX, taking their total wins to five, the second-highest total in league history behind the Pittsburgh Steelers. In January 2013, the 49ers made it to Super Bowl XLVII, where they suffered their first ever Super Bowl defeat, losing 34-31 to the Baltimore Ravens. In addition to Super Bowl victories, the 49ers have achieved six Conference Championship wins, 19 Division Championships and have made a total of 25 appearances in the playoffs.

San Francisco 49ers Championships

Super Bowl Championships

  • 1981: San Francisco 49ers 26, Cincinnati Bengals 21
  • 1984: San Francisco 49ers 38, Miami Dolphins 16
  • 1988: San Francisco 49ers 20, Cincinnati Bengals 16
  • 1989: San Francisco 49ers 55, Denver Broncos 10
  • 1994: San Francisco 49ers 49, San Diego Chargers 26

Notable 49ers Players

  • Leo Nomellin...
Loading ...