Seattle Seahawks

About Seattle Seahawks

The Seattle Seahawks were founded in 1975 as an expansion team and made their debut in the National Football League during the 1976 season. The Seahawks fans have developed a reputation over the years for being amongst the loudest and most passionate in the league. They are sometimes referred to as the Seahawks' 'Twelfth Man' as a result. In honor of this, the franchise retired the number 12 jersey.

Since joining the NFL, the Seahawks have moved conferences on two occasions. They started out in NFC West in 1976 and moved to AFC West the following year. Then, in 2002, they returned to NFC West again. As a result, they are the only team to have changed conferences more than once since the merger between the NFL and AFL in 1970.

After posting a 13-3 record during the 2005 regular season, the Seahawks made it all the way to Super Bowl XL, which took place in February 2006. However, at the Super Bowl, Seattle fell 21-10 to the Pittsburgh Steelers. Seattle made it back to the title game after going 13-3 during the 2013 season, this time winning Super Bowl XLVIII in a 43-8 romp over the Denver Broncos. Along with one Super Bowl championship, the Seahawks have won eight Division Titles and have made 13 appearances in the playoffs, with their first coming in 1983.

Seattle Seahawks Championships

Super Bowl Championships

  • 2013: Seattle Seahawks 43, Denver Broncos 8

Notable Seahawks Players

  • Jim Zorn
  • Kenny Easley
  • Curt Warner
  • Chris Warren
  • Steve Largent
  • Cortez Kennedy
  • Walter Jones
  • Shaun Alexander
  • Matt Hassellbeck

CenturyLink Field

The Seahawks have played all of their home games at CenturyLink Field since its opening in 2002. The stadium, which was p...

Loading ...