Christopher Smith

Six Heisman Finalists Announced

Created on Dec. 09, 2013 8:59 PM EST

We now know which players will join Jameis Winston in New York this weekend for the Heisman Trophy presentation.

The award named five other finalists Monday: Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Boston College running back Andre Williams and Auburn running back Tre Mason.

Winston, expected to win the award by one of the widest margins ever, should become the 12th quarterback in 13 years to win and the seventh consecutive non-senior.

He led Florida State (13-0) to a national championship appearance while throwing for 3,820 yards, 38 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. The Seminoles lost a nation-best 11 players to the draft in April, including five players in the first 50 picks: quarterback EJ Manuel (No. 16), defensive end Bjorn Werner (No. 24), cornerback Xavier Rhodes (No. 25), defensive end Tank Carradine (No. 40) and offensive tackle Menelik Watson (No. 42).

Yet Winston played well enough as a true freshman quarterback to improve on a two-loss season to the point that only one opponent got closer than 27 points (Boston College).

Manziel, last year's winner, was a redshirt freshman, the first ever to win the award. But Texas A&M lost four games this year and Manziel struggled against LSU late in the season, all but ending his chances of repeating.

Williams, with more than 2,100 rushing yards, and Mason, who ran for more than 300 yards in the SEC championship game, each burst onto the Heisman radar late in the year.

McCarron and Lynch, alternately, were second on most straw-poll ballots including actual Heisman voters before losing to Auburn and Bowling Green, respectively, in the Iron Bowl and MAC championship game.

The six finalists are the most invited to New York since 1994.

ESPN will reveal the winner during a made-for-TV special broadcast at 8 p.m. ET Saturday.

Loading ...