South Africa squad to face Swaziland announced

Created on Nov. 04, 2013 7:35 PM EST

South Africa coach Gordon Igesund has announced his 24-man squad to play a friendly match against neighbours Swaziland on the 15th of November at the National Stadium in the Swazi capital city of Mbabane.

The squad only consist of local based players as South Africa prepare for the African Championship Tournament (CHAN) that is going to take place on home soil next year January against 15 other nations across the African continent.

Players such as Tefo Mashamaite of Kaizer Chiefs, Edward Manqele of Moroka Swallows and Orlando Pirates’s Happy Jele and Lennox Bacela, have been included in the squad for the first time after impressing in their respective clubs.

Gordon Igesund said after naming the squad. “This is the first game we will play in preparations for the CHAN tournament and it is important to get the rhythm going in the team. It is exciting that the match against Swaziland will be a good test for us."

A total of nine Orlando Pirates players were included in the squad after the South African giants dominated in the CAF Champions League and reached the final where there are just one match away from being crowned continental champions for the second time in history.

“It is also great to have all Orlando Pirates players available after missing in the last couple of our matches due to their CAF Champions League commitments,” Igesund added, who left out captain and goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune but he is likely to come back for another friendly against Spain

Bafana Bafana, as South Africa are known, will depart for Swaziland on November 12th and come back on the 16th just a day after playing their match against Swaziland and come back home to prepare for another friendly match against World and European Champions Spain on November 19th at the FNB Stadium.

Full Squad:

Goalkeeprs: Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates), Ronwen Williams (Supersport United)

Defenders: Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars) Buhle Mkhwanazi (University of Pretoria), Rooi Mahamutsa, Thabo Matlaba, Happy Jele (Orlando Pirates), Tshepo Masilela, Tefo Mashamaite (Kaizer Chiefs).

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Daine Klate, Oupa Manyisa, (Orlando Pirates) Siphiwe Tshabalala, Reneilwe Letsholonyane ( Kaizer Chiefs) Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits) Bongani Zungu, Hlompho Lekana (Mamelodi Sundowns) Thuso Phala (Supersport United )Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows)

Strikers: Lennox Bacela, Kermit Erasmus (Orlando Pirates) Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) Edward Manqele (Moroka Swallows) Bafana 

Loading ...