Southern Miss Golden Eagles

About Southern Miss Golden Eagles

The Southern Miss Golden Eagles were first established in 1912 and represent the University of Southern Mississippi. Their main rivals are the Louisiana Tech Bulldogs, the Memphis Tigers and the Tulane Green Wave. Their rivalry with Louisiana is known as the Rivalry in Dixie, they compete in the Black and Blue Bowl with Memphis and they compete with Tulane in the Battle for the Bell.

The team has claimed two National Championships, both won during Thad Vann's spell as head coach. The wins came in 1958 and 1962 and on both occasions, United Press International was the selector to choose Southern Miss as champions. The Golden Eagles have competed in 22 bowl games altogether and currently have a 10-12 record.

During the late 1940s and early 1950s, Southern Miss racked up three Conference Championship wins in the Gulf States Conference. The team have spent much of their time operating as an independent, although they have played consistently in Conference USA since 1996. Since joining the league, the Golden Eagles have won further Conference Championships in 1996, 1997, 1999, 2003 and 2011 to take their total up to five Conference USA Titles and eight Conference Championships in total.

To date, the university have retired three numbers in order to honor previous players. These numbers belonged to Ray Guy, Reggie Collier and Brett Favre. All three players went on to compete in the National Football League, with Ray Guy and Brett Favre both going on to become Super Bowl champions. Guy was named in the NFL 1970s All-Decade Team, while Favre was named in the 1990s All-Decade Team.

The team play their home games at M. M. Roberts Stadium at Faulkner Field, which was built in 19...

Loading ...