Spartak Moskva

Founded In
Moskva, Russia

About Spartak Moskva

FC Spartak Moskva was founded in April 1922. For much of its existence, the team was connected to the Spartak Voluntary Sports Society, but the club is now privately owned. Spartak Moskva have, historically, been one of Russia's most successful football clubs, enjoying success in the Soviet era and since the formation of the Russian Premier League. The club's main rivals are Dinamo Moskva and CSKA Moskva.

Amongst supporters, a popular nickname for the club is 'The Meat', which derives from the early years of the club. For many years, Spartak Moskva was partially funded by a corporation in the meat industry. As a result of this, rival fans sometimes insult Spartak Moskva's fans by referring to them as 'Pigs'.

Spartak have enjoyed significant success throughout their history. The club won the Soviet Top League on 12 occasions, with their most prolific period coming in the 1950s. They lifted the Soviet Cup 10 times, including the last ever cup final under that name in 1992. Since the formation of the Russian Premier League, Spartak Moskva have been crowned champions 9 times, more than any other club. This included a run of six consecutive league wins in 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001. In addition, the club has lifted the Russian Cup three times. The 1990-91 season brought about their best performance in Europe, with the team reaching the semi-finals of the UEFA Champions League, where they were ultimately eliminated by Marseille.

Some of the most significant playes to represent Spartak Moskva throughout the club's history include names like Igor Netto, Nikita Simonyan, Sergey Rodionov, Roman Pavlyuchenko and Welliton.

The team currently plays home matches at the Luzhniki Stadium, which has a capacity of 78,360 and has been rated 5-stars by UEFA. However, Spartak are set to own their own stadium for the first time, when the Otkrytie Arena is completed in late 2013. It will be able to hold up to 43,000 fans.   

Loading ...