St. Louis Rams

About St. Louis Rams

The St. Louis Rams were founded in 1936 as the Cleveland Rams. The team started life in the American Football League, but joined the NFL before the 1937 season. The NFL regards the Rams as a separate team from the franchise which competed in the AFL in 1936. The team is currently owned by American billionaire Stan Kroenke.

After competing as the Cleveland Rams for almost ten years and winning one NFL championship in 1945, the franchise was relocated to Los Angeles, CA. As a result of the move, the team was renamed the Los Angeles Rams and played home games at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. While in Los Angeles, the franchise won its second NFL championship after defeating the Cleveland Browns. The Rams remained in Los Angeles until 1995, when the franchise moved once again, this time to its current home in St. Louis, MO.

It would not take long for the team to settle in at their new home. At the end of the 1999 season, the Rams went to Super Bowl XXXIV, where they defeated the Tennessee Titans to win their first Super Bowl and third NFL Championship. After a strong 2001 campaign, St. Louis returned to the big game for Super Bowl XXXVI, but they fell short this time, losing in surprising fashion to the underdog New England Patriots.

In total, the Rams have won six Conference Championships, 15 Division Championships and have made 27 playoff appearances.

St. Louis Rams Championships

NFL Championships

  • 1945: Cleveland Rams 15, Washington Redskins 14
  • 1951: Los Angeles Rams 24, Cleveland Browns 17

Super Bowl Championships

  • 1999: St. Louis Rams 23, Tennessee Titans 16

Notable Rams Players

  • Deacon Jones
  • Tom Mack
  • Les Richter
  • Jackie Slater
  • Norm Van Broc...
Loading ...