St. Patrick's Ath.

Founded In
Dublin, Republic of Ireland

About St. Patrick's Ath.

St Patrick’s Athletic Football Club, commonly known as St Patrick's, was first established in May 1929. Based in Dublin, the club have experienced high levels of success throughout history. The team have a number of different nicknames, including The Saints, St Pat's and SuperSaints. Their main rivals include the other major clubs from the city: Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne and Bohemians. The rivalry with Shamrock Rovers is kown as the Southside Derby, while games between St Patrick's and Shelbourne have been dubbed the Red Derby.

Despite their existence dating back in the 1920s, the club did not make their first appearance in the League of Ireland until the 1951-52 season, having previously competed in various junior and intermediate competitions. St Patrick's debut season in the League of Ireland ended in their first major national success, as they were crowned as league champions. 

In total, St Patrick's have amassed eight league titles, with their most recent success coming in 2013. The club also claim an unofficial ninth success, which occurred in 2001-02, but the win is not recognised by the FAI, as St Patrick's were deducted points for fielding ineligible players. To date, since joining the league, they have never suffered relegation from the Premier Division. Additional major honours have come in the form of two FAI Cups, two League of Ireland Cups, one League of Ireland Shield and one FAI Super Cup.

Shay Gibbons is the side's record goalscorer, having scored 108 goals in all competitions for St Patrick's. Other notable former players include names like Paul McGrath and Colin Hawkins. Legendary England goalkeeper, Gordon Banks, also played one game for the team back in the 1970s.

The Saints' home matches are held at Richmond Park, which first opened in 1925. The venue currently has 2,800 seats and is able to hold a maximum of 5,340 spectators.

Loading ...