Stanford Cardinal

About Stanford Cardinal

The Stanford Cardinal football program has represented Stanford University since 1892. The team was known as the Indians and the Cardinals before adopting the Cardinal nickname for the 1981 season.

Stanford (531-423-34) claims two national championships, 14 conference titles and has laid claim to one Heisman winner, Jim Plunkett, during its 94-year-history.

Despite losing badly in the first-ever Rose Bowl, 49-0 to Michigan, the Cardinal has amassed a 6-7-1 record in the Granddaddy of Them All.  All told, Stanford is 11-13-1 in the postseason.

Under legendary coach Pop Warner, Stanford finished the 1926 season undefeated with 10–0–1 overall record. They played in the 1927 Rose Bowl, which they tied with the Alabama Crimson Tide and were named as national champions by multiple outlets. The 1940 squad, nicknamed the “Wow Boys,” achieved a 10–0 record and beat the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the Rose Bowl. They were once again named as the national championship winners by three selectors, but finished No. 2 in the AP Poll, because voting was done prior to its bowl game.

Stanford’s Claimed National Titles

  • 1926 Rose Bowl: Stanford 7, Alabama 7
  • 1940 Rose Bowl: Stanford 21, Nebraska 13

Former Stanford stars include Ernie Nevers, who is a College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, John Elway and James Lofton, who have both been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame and Andrew Luck, who won the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award while playing for the Cardinal.

Notable Stanford Cardinal Alums

  • Frankie Albert
  • John Brodie
  • John Elway
  • James Lofton
  • Andrew Luck
  • Ernie Nevers
  • Jim Plunkett
  • Pop Warner

Stanford annually competes in the “Big Game” ...

Loading ...