Sturm Graz

Founded In
Graz, Austria

About Sturm Graz

Sportklub Puntigamer Sturm Graz, usually known as Sturm Graz, was established in 1909. Located in Graz, Styria, they are one of the best-known teams in Austrian football, having won a number of trophies at domestic level and having competed in numerous European competitions, over a period of several decades. The team are nicknamed 'Die Schwoazn' due to their club colours.

In the 1990s, Sturm Graz enjoyed a golden era of success, after new president Hannes Kartnig appointed Ivica Osim as head coach. In both 1996 and 1997, Osim's team lifted the Austrian Cup, while in 1998 they claimed their first ever league title. The following season, they were able to retain their league championship and win the Austrian Cup, completing a league and cup double. Throughout this period, Sturm Graz were regulars in the UEFA Champions League. However, after several key members of the squad left and the team's performances started to decline, Osim was sacked in 2002.

After the Osim era, the club's levels of success dropped, although in more recent years the team have once again picked up major honours. In 2008, Sturm Graz won the Intertoto Cup, while in 2010 they lifted the Austrian Cup for the fourth time. Then, the following year, the team were once again crowned as Austrian league champions.

Some of the most notable players to play for the team throughout history include Günther Neukirchner, Mario Haas, Gernot Jurtin, Hannes Reinmayr and Ivica Vastic. Günther Neukirchner and Mario Haas' squad numbers have since been retired by the club, as a mark of respect for their contributions.

Sturm Graz's home matches are held at the UPC-Arena, which was previously known as Arnold Schwarzenegger Stadium. The venue, which is also used by Grazer AK, opened in 1997. It is able to hold 15,400 spectators, although this is expanded to 16,000 for Champions League matches.

Loading ...