Syracuse Orange

About Syracuse Orange

The Syracuse Orange football team has been in operation since 1889 and represents Syracuse University. The team has enjoyed substantial success on the field and the program has produced many players who have gone on to enjoy huge success in the National Football League. Their main traditional rivals include the Boston College Eagles, the West Virginia Mountaineers, the Penn State Nittany Lions and the Pittsburgh Panthers. 

In 1959, with the legendary Ben Schwartzwalder serving as head coach, the Orange claimed their first ever National Championship. Over the course of the year, Syracuse completed an 11-0 unbeaten season and defeated the Texas Longhorns in the Cotton Bowl Classic. To date, it remains the team's only National Title.

However, in addition to their 1959 National Championship victory, the team have amassed five Conference Championships, including a string of victories in the Big East Conference in 1996, 1997 and 1998. Additional Conference Titles were collected in both 2004 and 2012. In total, Syracuse have competed in 24 post-season bowl games and currently hold a 14-9-1 record. From the 2013 season onwards, the Orange will compete in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Six former Syracuse players have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Jim Brown, Jim Ringo, Larry Csonka, John Mackey, Art Monk and Floyd Little. A number of alumni have also been enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame, including Ernie Davis, Don McPherson and Tim Green. During his career with the Orange, Ernie Davis also became the first African American to ever win the Heisman Trophy.

The team play home games at the Carrier Dome, which opened for the first time in 1980. Ni...

Loading ...