Tampa Bay Buccaneers

About Tampa Bay Buccaneers

In 1976, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers were founded as a National Football League expansion team. The team is currently owned by the Glazer Family, as head owner Malcolm Glazer passed away in May 2014.

The franchise endured an incredibly rough start as an NFL franchise. Over the course of their debut season in 1976, the Buccaneers lost all fourteen of the games they played. This winless streak continued throughout most of their second season as well, with the Buccaneers eventually racking up 26 consecutive defeats, an NFL record. The run of defeats finally came to an end in their 27th game against the New Orleans Saints. In response to losing to the Buccaneers, the Saints fired their head coach.

Things soon improved and by the 1979 season, the Buccaneers won the NFC Central. In doing so, they became the first expansion team after the NFL-AFL merger to win a Division Championship. After struggling for many of the years that followed, including a run of fourteen straight losing seasons, the Buccaneers enjoyed their most successful season in 2002. After winning the NFC Championship game, they annihilated the Oakland Raiders in Super Bowl XXXVII for the franchise’s first-ever league title.

They remain one of a small group of teams to have won the Super Bowl in their only Super Bowl appearance. In total, the Buccaneers have amassed six Division Titles and have made 10 playoff appearances.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Championships

Super Bowl Championships

  • 2002: Tampa Bay Buccaneers 48, Oakland Raiders 21

Notable Buccaneers Players

  • Lee Roy Selmon
  • Hardy Nickerson
  • Mike Alstott
  • Warren Sapp
  • John Lynch
  • Derrick Brooks
  • Warrick Dunn
  • Ronde Barber

Raymond James Stadi...

Loading ...