TCU Horned Frogs

About TCU Horned Frogs

The TCU Horned Frogs represent Texas Christian University and took part in their first college football season in 1896. During the first half of the 20th century, TCU had been a major force in the sport, although their levels of success dropped during the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s. In recent times, however, they have enjoyed a return to prominence. Their main rivals are the Baylor Bears and the SMU Mustangs.

After winning two Conference Championships during the 1920s, TCU entered into a golden era in the 1930s, during which they claimed two National Championships. In 1935, they were co-champions with the SMU Mustangs, while in 1938, they were consensus champions, posting an unbeaten 11–0 record and topping the Associated Press Poll. In addition to their two National Titles, the 1930s also saw the Horned Frogs add two further Southwest Conference Championships, with those wins coming in 1932 and 1938.

In total, TCU have won 17 Conference Championships throughout history, including nine Southwest Conference Championships and four Mountain West Conference Championships. They are one of eleven college football teams to have competed in the Rose, Fiesta, Sugar and Orange Bowls. In 2011, the team announced it had accepted an invitation to join the Big 12 Conference from 2012 onwards.

Notable players to have played for the Horned Frogs over the years include Davey O'Brien, who was awarded the Heisman Trophy in 1938; Sammy Baugh and Bob Lilly, who were inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame and LaDainian Tomlinson, who was named the NFL MVP for 2006.

Since 1930, the team have played their home games at Amon G. Carter Stadium, which is nicknamed 'Hell's Half-Acre'. The venue...

Loading ...