Tennessee Volunteers

About Tennessee Volunteers

The Tennessee Volunteers represent the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and have been active in college football since 1891. Throughout history, they have been one of the NCAA's most successful teams, winning a number of titles and producing 38 consensus All-Americans along the way. Their main rivals include the Alabama Crimson Tide, the Florida Gators, the Vanderbilt Commodores and the Kentucky Wildcats. The rivalry with Alabama is named the 'Third Saturday in October', after the day the games were traditionally played on.

At present, Tennessee claim six National Titles, including four during Robert Neyland's time as head coach. The six claimed titles were won in 1938, 1940, 1950, 1951, 1967 and 1998. In addition, several selectors have awarded the team National Championships for eight other seasons, although none of these are currently claimed by the school.

Moreover, the Vols have won 16 Conference Championships, which includes 13 wins since joining the Southeastern Conference. The team have won six Division Titles and have appeared in a total of 49 post-season bowl games. They currently possess a bowl record of 25 wins and 24 losses. Their most recent win came in the 2008 Outback Bowl, where they beat the Wisconsin Badgers.

The program has produced a number of Hall of Fame inductees, including Doug Atkins and Reggie White, who were both inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Other notable alumni include Peyton Manning and Johnny Majors.

The Volunteers have played their home games at Neyland Stadium, formerly known as Shields-Watkins Field, since its opening in 1921. Over the years, the venue has undergone more than a d...

Loading ...