Teuta Durrës

Founded In
Durrës, Albania

About Teuta Durrës

Klub Futbolli Teuta, often known as Teuta Durrës, was originally founded back in 1920, under the name KS Urani. The team first adopted a variation of its current name in 1927, although several other name changes followed. As a result, the club spent many years operating under names like Puna Durrës and Lokomotiva Durrës, before reverting back to its current name in 1991. The city of Durrës is located on the Albanian coast and, because of this, the team's supporters are known as the 'Boys of the Sea'.

Over the years, the club have spent time in the lower divisions of the country's football league system. In both the 1959 and 1961 seasons, Teuta Durrës were crowned as the champions of the Second Division and were subsequently granted access to the top flight.

However, their greatest success would come about in the 1993-94 campaign, when they were eventually crowned as Superliga champions, after finishing the season four points ahead of their nearest title rivals, SK Tirana. The team were able to follow that success up with more domestic silverware, in the shape of the Albanian Cup, which they lifted for the first time in 1995, before adding further wins in 2000 and 2005. Since their domestic fortunes changed in 1994, Teuta Durrës have also represented Albania in a number of European tournaments, including the UEFA Cup and the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup. 

Some of the most notable players to have competed for the team include Niko Bespalla, Daniel Xhafa and Migen Memelli, all of whom were prolific goal scorers during their respective stints with the side.

Teuta Durrës' home matches are held at the Niko Dovana Stadium, which is currently able to hold up to 13,000 fans. In August 2010, the venue also played host to the Albanian national team for the first time, as they played a friendly match against Uzbekistan.

Loading ...