Texas A&M Aggies

About Texas A&M Aggies

The Texas A&M Aggies represent Texas A&M University and have been active in intercollegiate football since 1894. The team have enjoyed great success over the years and the program has produced a total of 22 consensus All-Americans. The Aggies have a number of major rivals, including the LSU Tigers, the Arkansas Razorbacks, the Missouri Tigers, the Texas Longhorns and the Baylor Bears. Their rivalry with the Longhorns is their most historic, dating back to the Aggies' foundation year.

At present, the team claim three National Championships. The first two of those wins came in 1919 and 1927, during Dana X. Bible's time as head coach. A third win came in 1939, when Texas A&M achieved an 11–0 season, including a win against Tulane in the Sugar Bowl. Some sources have also awarded the Aggies a National Title for the 1917 season, where they achieved an 8–0 record and were unscored upon, but Texas A&M University does not currently claim this title.

In addition to their National Championships, the team have also amassed a total of 18 Conference Championships, with their most recent win coming in the 1998 Big 12 Conference. In 1997, 1998 and 2010, the Aggies also won Division Titles. Texas A&M have made 34 appearances in bowl games and currently possess a 15-19 record.

Over the years, the Texas A&M program has produced two Heisman Trophy winners: John David Crow in 1957 and Johnny Manziel in 2012. Several former Aggies players have gone into the College Football Hall of Fame, including Joel Hunt, Charlie Krueger and Ray Childress. Yale Lary was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979, after a career in which he was a three-time NFL Champion a...

Loading ...