Chris Stephens

Texas A&M WR Evans Deserves Heisman Mention

Created on Nov. 12, 2013 9:44 PM EST

For all of the talk about Marcus Mariota, Jameis Winston and Johnny Manziel when it comes to the Heisman Trophy, none are having a season like Texas A&M wide receiver Mike Evans.

Through 10 games this year, Evans has 57 receptions for 1,263 yards and 12 touchdowns. He's averaging 22.2 yards per catch and already has surpassed last year's 1,105 receiving yards.

While Evans won't catch the record of 2,060 receiving yards held by Trevor Insley of Nevada, Evans can still enter the Top 10 in receiving yards for a season. All he has to do is get 432 more yards over the next two games. And considering his two biggest games of the year came against the SEC's top teams Alabama and Auburn, the fact that the Aggies have LSU and Missouri left on the schedule bodes well for the receiver.

So, why does Evans deserve consideration?

Making The Most Of His Receptions

Evans has only collected double-digit receptions in one game (11 vs. Auburn). With only 57 receptions on the year, that shows he's making the most of his receptions.

Against Alabama, he only had seven receptions, but had 279 yards. A 95-yard touchdown helped that total, but that still leaves six receptions for 184 yards.

It's Not Always About The Quarterback

While quarterbacks are generally considered the front-runners for the Heisman every year, they're not always the best players in the country.

Without their receivers, they're nothing.

Manziel is a great quarterback without Evans, but he's a better quarterback with Evans in the fold.

Manziel has been known to scramble in the backfield. When he doesn't tuck the ball and run, he's looking downfield for a receiver coming back toward the ball. That receiver is usually Evans, especially against Auburn, when four of his 11 receptions went for touchdowns.

He Won't Win The Heisman

I'm not advocating for Evans to win the Heisman, but he deserves consideration. 

USC's Marqise Lee finished fourth in the voting last year after collecting 118 receptions for 1,721 yards. Prior to that, Justin Blackmon finished fifth in 2010 and Michael Crabtree finished fifth in 2008.

I'm also a realist and know it's next to impossible for a wide receiver to win the Heisman. Since the award was instituted in 1935, Desmond Howard (1991) and Tim Brown (1987) are the only two to win the award.

Evans won't win the Heisman, but he needs to be at least mentioned in the conversation. He's having a good enough season to warrant consideration.

Loading ...