Texas Longhorns

About Texas Longhorns

The Texas Longhorns have been active since 1893 and represent the University of Texas at Austin. The program is widely considered one of the most prestigious in the country and the team have been one of the most successful in all of college football. At present, they have the second highest all-time win percentage in NCAA history, behind the Michigan Wolverines, and over 300 Longhorns players have gone on to play in the National Football League.

Over the years, Texas have had rivalries with a number of other teams, including the Oklahoma Sooners, the Texas A&M Aggies, the Texas Tech Red Raiders and the Arkansas Razorbacks. The Longhorns currently have winning records against all four of those teams.

In total, Texas have claimed four consensus National Championships, with those wins coming in 1963, 1969, 1970, and 2005. Various other sources attribute other National Championships to the team, giving them twelve unclaimed National Titles altogether. In addition, the Longhorns have amassed 32 Conference Championships, including three in the Big 12 Conference, with those wins coming in 1996, 2005 and 2009. Furthermore, the team have won seven Big 12 South Division Titles and have made 51 appearances in bowl games. They are currently ranked second in terms of their number of bowl game appearances and the team's post-season bowl record stands at 27–22–2.

Amongst the most notable players to play for the Longhorns are Earl Campbell and Ricky Williams, who were awarded the Heisman Trophy in 1977 and 1998, respectively. Other former players include names like Bobby Layne, Tommy Nobis, Vince Young and Colt McCoy.

The team play their home games at Darrell K Royal–Texas Memori...

Loading ...