Founded In
Toluca de Lerdo, Mexico

About Toluca

Deportivo Toluca Fútbol Club, commonly known by the name Toluca, was first established in 1917 by Román Ferrat, Gerardo Ferrat and Filiberto Navas. The team made its first appearance in the Mexican Primera División in 1953. Since that time, Toluca have gone on to become one of the nation's most successful clubs.

Although they won a Copa México in the 1950s, Toluca experienced their first taste of consistent major honours during the 1960s, under the management of Ignacio Trelles. This era of success began with a Primera División win in 1966-67. The following year, the team built upon that success, winning the title once again and also adding the 1968 CONCACAF Champions' Cup to their trophy haul.

The late 1990s and early 2000s brought about the team's next title wins, with three back-to-back successes occuring in 1998, 1999 and 2000. In total, the club have now amassed ten Primera División wins, ranking them amongst the most successful teams to ever compete in the competition. Other domestic triumphs include a second Copa México, won in 1989 and being crowned Campeón de Campeones on four occasions, most recently in 2006. In terms of international success, Toluca added to their 1968 win by lifting the CONCACAF Champions' Cup once again in 2003.

José Cardozo is Toluca's all-time leading goalscorer, having scored 249 times during a ten year stint at the club. Some of the team's other notable former players include Mexican striker Vicente Pereda, Uruguayan international Vicente Sánchez and the Chilean international Héctor Mancilla.

Since 1993, Toluca have played their home matches at the Estadio Nemesio Díez. The stadium, which originally opened in 1954, is often known as La Bombonera and was one of the venues used in both the 1970 and 1986 FIFA World Cups, both of which were hosted by Mexico. At present, the ground is able to hold a maximum of 27,000 supporters.   

Loading ...