Ken Pomponio

Top 15 All-Time Mountain West Teams

Created on Jul. 15, 2013 4:38 PM EST

No. 1: 2010 TCU Horned Frogs

Record: 13-0, 8-0 to win MWC

Final Coaches’/AP poll ranks: 2/2

Postseason: Defeated Wisconsin, 21-19, in Rose Bowl

Like the ’04 and ’08 Utes, Gary Patterson’s ’10 Horned Frogs were an undefeated, dominant squad that won a BCS bowl, monopolized the All-MWC squads (14 combined first- and second-teamers, including the conference’s offensive and defensive players of the year in senior QB Andy Dalton and junior LB Tank Carder) and fielded future pros (four 2011 NFL draft picks and two more the following season) galore. But what sets this TCU squad apart from the rest and puts it atop this list are the all-encompassing records the team established en route to 13-0, setting conference-play marks for 4,060 total yards gained, 1,556 yards allowed and point differentials of plus-385 (overall) and plus-267 (conference). And following its Rose Bowl win over the Big Ten tri-champs, TCU finished second in both the Coaches’ and AP polls — all-time MWC high-water marks for both. 

Loading ...