Christopher Wuensch

Top Five: Pac-12's College Football Hall Of Fame Classes

Created on May. 19, 2013 12:21 AM EST

2. 1951: First Class Is Almost Best

Six of the eight Pac-12 representatives in the inaugural College Football Hall of Fame class were coaches — including legendary Stanford coaches Walter Camp, Pop Warner and Fielding H. Yost.

Camp, Warner and Yost were considered pioneers in the sport and known as the founding fathers of modern-day football.

Howard Jones won five Rose Bowls and four national titles for Southern California.

Harold Muller became the first West Coast player to be named an All-American.

George “Wildcat” Wilson is one of three Huskies to have their jersey retired by Washington and is a member of the College Football and Rose Bowl Halls of Fame.


Walter Camp, Coach — Stanford

Gil Dobie, Coach — Washington

Howard Jones, Coach — USC

Andrew Kerr, Coach – Stanford

Harold Muller, End — California

Pop Warner, Coach — Stanford

George Wilson, RB — Washington

Fielding H. Yost, Coach — Stanford

Loading ...