Christopher Wuensch

Top Five: Pac-12's College Football Hall Of Fame Classes

Created on May. 19, 2013 12:17 AM EST

3. 2008: Aikman Becomes Man of Troy

Troy Aikman, QB — UCLA*

Oklahoma’s loss was the Pac-10’s gain when Troy Aikman transferred after an injury forced him out of his starting role in Norman. He left UCLA as the Bruins’ second-leading passer all-time, a slew of awards and an overall No. 1 draft pick to boast about.

Randall McDaniel, G — ASU*

McDaniel started 202 straight games for the Minnesota Vikings, including an NFL-record 12 Pro Bowl appearances. He is the only Arizona native elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Rueben Mayes, RB — Washington State

When Mayes left Pullman for a Pro Bowl career in the NFL, he took with him the school records for single-season and career rushing yards. The All-American also held the conference record for rushing yards in a game (357), a mark that stood until November when Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey piled 366 yards on Colorado.

John Cooper, Coach — ASU

John Cooper only spent three seasons stalking the Arizona State sidelines, but he left with a legacy that still stands today. Cooper went 25-9-2 during his tenure in Tempe and won the school’s only Rose Bowl — a 22-15 victory over Michigan. The Wolverines exacted revenge on Cooper, who jumped the ASU ship to take over the helm at Ohio State. Michigan went 2-10-1 against Cooper’s Buckeyes.

*College and Pro Football HOF

Loading ...