Tottenham Hotspur

Founded In
London, England

About Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur formed in 1888 by a group of grammar-school boys however they were not elected to the Football League until 1909. They had though, already won their first major trophy the FA Cup in 1901 beating Sheffield United becoming the only non-league side to win the tournament after the formation of the Football League.

After the war, under the management of Arthur Rowe, Spurs cemented their reputation as an attractive club and they won the club's first championship in 1951. Ten years under the management of Bill Nicholson in 1961 they repeated the feat as well as winning the FA Cup to secure the double.

In 1963 they beat Atletico Madrid win the Cup Winners Cup, and in 1972 they would become the first winners of the renamed Uefa Cup, beating Wolves over two legs in the first all-English European final. There were also triumphs in the FA Cup (1962 and 1966) and League Cup (1971 and 1973).

A sixth FA Cup was won in 1981 thanks to Ricky Villa's amazing solo goal versus Manchester City. A year later the FA Cup was retained after defeating fellow London club Queens Park Rangers and in 1984, they won the Uefa Cup at White Hart Lane after beating Anderlecht on penalties.

In in 1991 they again won the FA Cup, the fifth consecutive decade in which Spurs had won a trophy when the year ended in 1, Paul Gascoigne took Spurs to the final against Nottingham Forest, winning 2-1.

Champions League football finally arrived back in North London as Harry Redknapp's first season ended in smiles in 2010. Beginning the 2012 season, Portuguese manager, Andre Villas-Boas has been handed the reigns.

White Hart Lane is the home of Tottenham and it is an all-seater stadium with a capacity of 36,230. It was built in 1899 however it has been renovated many times over the last 120 years. The Lane held capacity records in the early 1960s with numbers entering the 70,000s but as seating increased in popularity, the stadium has downsized. The attendance record is 75,038.


European Cup Winners Cup 1963

UEFA Cup 1972, 1984

First Division Champions 1951, 1961

FA Cup 1901, 1921, 1961, 1962, 1967,1981, 1982, 1991

League Cup 1971, 1973, 1999, 2008

Loading ...