Football News

Toure, Drogba, Mikel on African Footballer of the Year shortlist

Created on Jan. 01, 2014 11:40 AM EST

Yaya Toure is in line to win a third straight African Footballer of the Year award after being named on this year's three-man shortlist.

The Manchester City midfielder collected the prize in 2011 and 2012, and will hope to beat off competition from Galatasaray striker Didier Drogba and Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel to land a record-equalling third award in a row.

Should Toure win the honour, he will join Ghanaian Abedi Pele and Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o as only the third man to have been named Africa's leading player on three consecutive occasions.

Toure, Drogba and Mikel made the grade after the original list of 10 players was trimmed on Wednesday.

National team coaches from the Confederation of African Football will cast votes to decide the winner, which will be announced at a ceremony in Lagos on January 9.

Toure's main achievement on the international stage in the past year was to help the Ivory Coast secure their place at this year's FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Mikel is included after playing an integral role in Nigeria's Africa Cup of Nations triumph in February.

Drogba, an international team-mate of Toure, is included mainly for his form on the domestic scene after helping Galatasaray to the 2012-13 Turkish Super Lig title.

Loading ...