Founded In
Turku (Åbo), Finland

About TPS

Turun Palloseura, often known by the shortened name TPS, was founded in the city of Turku back in 1922. Nicknamed Tepsi, the club have traditionally been amongst the most successful in Finnish football, winning many domestic honours throughout history. The club have also developed a reputation for their good work at youth level. However, early in the 21st century the team experienced majo difficulties and suffered a brief relegation to the second tier.

In 1928, TPS won their first ever Finnish title, back when the championship was contested in a knockout format. Their first league title win came in 1939. That success was followed by additional league wins, coming in 1941 and 1949, before the club entered a golden era in the late 1960s and early 1970s. They were able to pick up further championships in 1968, 1971, 1972 and 1975, in order to take their total haul to eight domestic titles.

While the team have been unable to add to their league success since the 1970s, they have claimed more major honours in the form of domestic cups. In 1991 and 1994, they lifted the Finnish Cup, before suffering relegation to the second tier in 2000. They returned to the top division ahead of the 2003 season and achieved a third Finnish Cup win in 2010. Then, in 2012, the club won the Finnish League Cup for the first time. They have played in several UEFA tournaments, with their most memorable performance coming in 1987, when they defeated Internazionale at the San Siro.

A number of Finnish international players have represented the side, with several going on to enjoy high-profile careers abroad. Notable examples of this include Peter Enckelman, Niklas Moisander, Mika Aaltonen and Jani Virtanen.

TPS play home matches at Veritas Stadion, which was previously called Kupittaan Jalkapallostadion. The venue opened in 1952 and was renovated in 2003. It is able to seat up to 9,372 supporters.

Loading ...