UCF Knights

About UCF Knights

The University of Central Florida Knights, often known more simply as the UCF Knights, have been competing in college football since 1979. Despite their relative youth, the team have achieved some success in the sport. Their main rivals are the South Florida Bulls, the Marshall Thundering Herd, the East Carolina Pirates and the Tulsa Golden Hurricane. Their rivalry with South Florida is usually seen as their most significant.

Between 1979 and 1981, UCF competed in NCAA Division III and rose to NCAA Division II ahead of the 1982 season. During the early 1990s, they competed at NCAA Division I-AA level, before making the step up to NCAA Division I-A/FBS in 1996. The team had operated as an independent from its foundation up until 2002, when they joined the Mid-American Conference. From 2005-2012 they played in the Conference USA and from 2013, will compete in the American Athletic Conference.

To date, UCF have won Conference USA Eastern Division Championships in 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2012 and were crowned Conference Champions in both 2007 and 2010. The team have competed in five bowl games. After losing the first three, UCF won the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in 2010 and the Beef 'O' Brady's Bowlin 2012 to bring their record up to 2-3.

The program has produced three consensus All-Americans so far: Kevin Smith in 2007, Joe Burnett in 2008 and Quincy McDuffie in 2012. Smith and Burnett have since been honored by having their jerseys retired. Several alumni have gone on to successful careers in the National Football League, including Asante Samuel, Brandon Marshall, Daunte Culpepper, Josh Sitton and Shawn Jefferson.

UCF play their home games at Bright House Networks Stadium, whic...

Loading ...