UCLA Bruins

About UCLA Bruins

The UCLA Bruins football team has represented the University of California, Los Angeles since its inception in 1924.

The Bruins (545-359-31) have ranked in the top-ten in every decade since the AP began polling.

With Henry Russell Sanders serving as head coach, UCLA achieved an unblemished 9-0 record during the 1954 season. As a result, they were chosen as national champions in the UPI Poll and shared the national title with the Ohio State Buckeyes, who also had a 9-0 record and topped the end-of-season AP Poll. To date, this remains UCLA's only national championship.

The Bruins have won 17 Conference Championships, with their most successful spells coming in the 1950s and 1980s. The program has accrued a 15-17-1 record in 33 bowl games and is 5-7 all-time in the Rose Bowl.

UCLA’s National Title

  • 1954: 9-0, No Bowl Game

Gary Beban is the Bruins’ lone Heisman Trophy winner, taking home the hardware in 1967. UCLA has also produced 36 All-Americans and 29 first-round picks in the NFL. The program has seen 14 College Football Hall of Famers and inducted five of its players into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Notable UCLA Bruins Alums

  • Troy Aikman
  • Gary Beban
  • Tom Fears
  • Jimmy Johnson
  • Jonathan Ogden
  • Bob Waterfield

The Bruins’ main rivals are the crosstown Southern California Trojans. USC holds a 46-30-7 advantage in the series that dates back to 1929.

An original member of the Pac-12, UCLA has called the fabled Rose Bowl its home since 1982. The stadium, which was built in 1922, also hosts the annual Rose Bowl Game. It has an official capacity of 91,136 for Bruins games, although the record attendance was set for the 1973 Rose Bowl Game, which was attended...

Loading ...