Analia Sordi

Uruguay Primera Division: Nacional-Defensor Preview

Created on Nov. 07, 2013 4:19 PM EST


“Los tricolor” last weekend loss to Liverpool 2-1, however Nacional continues to lead the table with 21 points because Danubio was defeated by Wanderers. Arruabarrena’s team so far has seven wins and two losses .

Richard Porta and Ignacio Gonzalez continue to recover from their injuries and it is expected that “El Canguro” Porta will make a full recovery for “El Clasico”. The Argentine, Arruabarrena will not be able to manage his team because he was handed down a two-match ban as a result of the events that occurred in the game against Liverpool.

As for Defensor, they occupy the eighth position in the table with three wins, two draws and four losses. The loss to Racing marked the outbreak of raging fans which ensure this is the worst season Defensor has had in recent years.

Defensor player, Gaston Silva has been left out of this fixture as he suffers from flu symptoms and Tabare Silva decided to remove him to not aggravate the situation.

In an interview leading up to the fixture, Tabare Silva stated, “They need be positive, there is no other option.”  He is assured this is just a “bad moment” and the way to revert their performance is to continue to “work hard”.

Felipe Gedoz also stated, “Defensor is having bad luck. Last year everything went well and now nothing has been working out for us. The group gets along well but I just think the results are just not going well.”

Felipe went on to say, “Nacional is leading the table and we are in the middle of the table but I do not believe that comes to play on the field. I believe on Thursday with the confidence of the whole squad we will have a great game”.

Defensor lineup: Martín Campana, Emilio Zeballos, Mario Risso, Ramon Arias, Lucas Morales, Andres Fleurquin, Juan Carlos Amado, Felipe Gedoz, Nicolas Olivera, Adrian Luna, Ignacio Risso.

Nacional lineup: Jorge Bava, Pablo Alvarez, Guillermo De los Santos, Andres Scotti, Juan Manuel Diaz, Maximiliano Calzada, Diego Arismendi, Alvaro Fernandez, Alvaro Recoba, Juan Cruz Mascia, Ivan Alonso.

Loading ...