Vanderbilt Commodores

About Vanderbilt Commodores

The Vanderbilt Commodores have been active in college football since 1890. Representing Vanderbilt University, the team have enjoyed some major success in the sport and a total of six consensus All-Americans have come through the program. Their primary rivals are the Ole Miss Rebels and the Tennessee Volunteers. The rivalry with Tennessee dates back to 1892, while they first played against Ole Miss in 1894.

After operating as an independent, Vanderbilt joined the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association in 1895 and remained there until joining the Southern Conference in 1922. Then, in 1932, the Commodores became a member of the Southeastern Conference and have remained there ever since. They currently compete in the league's Eastern Division.

In total, the team have won 14 Conference Championships, which consists of 12 wins in the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association and two wins in the Southern Conference. Eleven of their Conference Title wins came during Dan McGugin's spell as head coach of the program. However, they have yet to win a Conference Championship since moving to the Southeastern Conference. To date, Vanderbilt have appeared in six post-season bowl games and currently have a 3-2-1 record in them. Their most recent victory came in the 2012 Music City Bowl, when they overcame the NC State Wolfpack.

So far, five former Vanderbilt players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame: John J. Tigert, Josh Cody, Lynn Bomar, William Spears and Carl Hinkle. In 2005, the team's quarterback, Jay Cutler, was named SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

The Commodores play their home games at Vanderbilt Stadium at Dudley Field. The venue initial...

Loading ...