Ventforet Kofu

Founded In
Kofu, Japan

About Ventforet Kofu

Ventforet Kofu was established in 1965 under the name Kofu Club. The team differed from many other clubs in Japan, in that they were operated by voluntary members, rather than the employees of a major business. Over the years, Ventforet Kofu have spent most of their history outside of the top division of Japanese football.

During the 1960s, the team played its football in the Kanto Soccer League and finished top of the league in 1969 and 1970. The 1969 season also saw Kofu win the Shakaijin Cup. In 1972, they joined Division 2 of the Japan Soccer League and remained there until 1992, when they became a founding member of the Japan Football League. Then, in 1999, they joined the newly-created J-League Division 2.

So far, the club have been unable to claim any of the major national honours on offer in Japan. At the end of their seventh season in J-League Division 2, the team finished in 3rd place and gained promotion to the top flight for the first time. Their stay in the top division lasted just two years and they were relegated again at the end of 2007. Another three seasons in Division 2 followed, before returning the top flight for one year, in 2011. After relegation, the team were crowned champions of Division 2 in 2012 and returned to Division 1 once again.

Amongst the side's most notable former players are names like Mike Havenaar, Takehito Shigehara, Takafumi Ogura, Ovidiu Burcă and Baré. 

The team play their home matches at Yamanashi Chuo Bank Stadium, formerly known as Kose Sports Park Stadium. The venue opened its doors for the first time in 1985 and underwent renovations in 1997. The capacity was expanded in 2005 and it is currently able to hold up to 17,000 supporters.

Loading ...