Virginia Tech Hokies

About Virginia Tech Hokies

The Virginia Tech Hokies have a history dating back to 1892. Representing Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, the team are notable for having amassed more team wins than any other program in the ACC. Their main rivals are the Virginia Cavaliers, with whom they contest the Commonwealth Cup. Previously, they also maintained a fierce rivalry with the West Virginia Mountaineers.

At present, Virginia Tech have one of the longest bowl game streaks in the country, behind only the Florida State Seminoles and the Florida Gators. The Honkies have participated in every post-season since 1993. They have contested the National Championship once in that time, at the end of the 1999 season, where they lost in the Sugar Bowl to Florida State.

In total, the team have claimed eight Conference Championships, with seven of those wins coming since 1995. In addition, they have won the ACC Coastal Division Championship five times, with those wins coming in 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011. They have played in a total of 26 bowl games, with their first appearance coming in the 1947 Sun Bowl. Their overall record in bowl games is 10-16.

Former players include names like Bruce Smith, who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2009; Corey Moore, who won the Lombardi Award in 1999; and Michael Vick, who was the first overall selection in the 2001 NFL Draft.

The team play their home games at Lane Stadium, which opened back in 1965. The venue has undergone renovations several times since then and is currently able to hold a maximum of 65,632 spectators. It is well-known for being one of the loudest and most intimidating stadiums in college football, giving Virginia Tech...

Loading ...