Founded In
Beveren-Waas, Belgium

About Waasland-Beveren

Waasland-Beveren was established in 2010, although its history dates back to the foundation of K.F.C. Red Star Haasdonk in 1936. Historically, Red Star Haasdonk had competed in the Belgian Provincial Leagues for most of their existence, only reaching the national league system for the first time at the turn of the 21st century.

In 2002, the club changed its name to KV Red Star Waasland. Then, in 2010, former Belgian title winners KSK Beveren suffered severe financial difficulties. A few weeks before the end of the season, they announced that they would not be applying for a professional license. Eventually, with the club set to be relegated, a merger was agreed with KV Red Star Waasland to form Waasland-Beveren. The new club kept the club history and league position of Red Star Waasland, but relocated to Beveren from their previous home in the city of Sint-Niklaas.

Neither Red Star Waasland or Waasland-Beveren have won major domestic honours so far. The club first gained promotion to the second division in 2004 and gained entry to the Belgian top flight at the conclusion of the 2011–12 season, after finishing 2nd in the Second Division. To date, the team's best performance in the Belgian Cup came in 2007-08, where they reached the final sixteen. Although K.S.K. Beveren won league titles in 1978-79 and 1983–84, their achievements were not carried over as part of the merger.

Notable players to have played for Waasland-Beveren in its short history include Tomasz Radzinski and Christian Bouckenooghe. Some of the best-known players to have played for K.S.K. Beveren before the club's closure included Yaya Touré, Gervinho and Emmanuel Eboué.

The club currently plays its home matches at Freethiel Stadion in Beveren. The ground is named after Frederik Thielemans, who made the venue available to the club. It first opened in 1938 and underwent renovations in 2008. At present, it is able to hold up to 13,290 supporters.   

Loading ...