Wake Forest Demon Deacons

About Wake Forest Demon Deacons

The Wake Forest Demon Deacons have been active since 1888 and the team represents Wake Forest University. For much of their history, Wake Forest have struggled to compete with the larger schools, due to the lower number of undergraduates enrolling in the program. However, since the turn of the 21st century, they have been fairly competitive. Their main rivals include the Duke Blue Devils, the North Carolina Tar Heels and the NC State Wolfpack. Collectively, these four teams are referred to as 'Tobacco Road'.

The 2006 season was historic for Wake Forest, as the team claimed the ACC Atlantic Division Title and recorded an 11-2 regular season record. They contested the ACC Championship Game in December and beat the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets 9-6. As a result, the Deacons went on to compete in the Orange Bowl. In the process, they made history, becoming the smallest school to ever participate in the Bowl Championship Series. Unfortunately, they lost the game to the Louisville Cardinals. However, as a result of their achievements, head coach Jim Grobe was named the 2006 Coach of the Year by both the Associated Press and the Atlantic Coast Conference.

In total, the Deacons have won two Conference Championships, with their other win coming back in 1970. The team have competed in ten post-season bowl games and currently possess a 6-4 record in them. 

Notable players to come through the program over the years include Bill Armstrong, Brian Piccolo, Billy Ray Barnes and Norm Snead. All four players have had their jerseys retired by the team as a mark of respect.

Wake Forest play their home games at BB&T Field at Groves Stadium. The venue has housed the team since its openin...

Loading ...