Washington Huskies

About Washington Huskies

The Washington Huskies have represented the University of Washington in Seattle since 1889.

The Huskies (585-397-32) have seven perfect seasons without a loss or tie and have gone undefeated another 12 times en route to four NCAA-recognized titles. Washington has also won 15 conference championships, the last coming in 2000.

From 1907 to 1917, the program set the NCAA’s unbeaten mark going 63 games without a loss. The Huskies also have the second-longest win streak in NCAA history, with 39-consecutive wins, and went from 1997 to 2003 without finishing a season below .500.

Washington is 7-6 in the Rose Bowl and owns an all-time postseason record of 16-16-1.

Huskies National Titles

  • 1960
  • 1984
  • 1990
  • 1991

A big part of the Huskies’ success stems from a lineage of top-class quarterbacks, including 16 quarterbacks who’ve taken a snap in the NFL. The program has produced 19 consensus All-Americans, including Rick Redman, Chuck Nelson, Steve Emtman and Lincoln Kennedy. Hugh McElhenny also played for Washington and went on to be inducted into both the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the College Football Hall of Fame.

Notable Washington Alums

  • Mark Brunell
  • Steve Emtman
  • Don Heinrich
  • Lincoln Kennedy
  • Hugh McElhenny
  • Warren Moon
  • Chuck Nelson
  • Rick Redman

Washington is one of the original Pacific-12 members, joining in 1915 when the conference was then known as the Pacific Coast Conference. They annually compete in the Apple Cup against Washington State. The Huskies have dominated the matchup with a 68-32-6 record dating back to 1917.

The program has played its home games at Husky Stadium since it opened in the early 1920s. The venue has been renov...

Loading ...