Washington State Cougars

About Washington State Cougars

The Washington State Cougars have represented Washington State University since their inaugural season in 1894.

The Cougars (435-494-38) have won four conference titles.

During the early 21st century, spanning the end of Mike Price's tenure as coach and the beginning of Bill Doba's tenure, Washington State put together a run of three-consecutive 10-win seasons from 2001 to 2003. At the end of each of these seasons, the team ranked amongst the top-ten teams in the country. The highest the Cougars have finished a season was ranked No. 9, which they did twice in 1997 and 2003.

The program has won one of its four trips to the Rose Bowl. That win came in 1916 with a 14-0 victory over Brown. All told, the Cougars are 6-5 in the postseason.

Washington State Cougars Conference Titles

  • 1917: Pacific Coast Conference
  • 1930: Pacific Coast Conference
  • 1997: Pacific-12 Conference
  • 2002: Pacific-12 Conference

Washington State has produced five All-Americans and more than 150 NFL players, including Jason Hanson and Dan Lynch, who have both been inducted into the Washington State University Athletic Hall of Fame. Quarterback Drew Bledsoe was a No. 1 pick in the 1993 NFL Draft.

Notable Cougars Alums

  • Drew Bledsoe
  • Jack Elway
  • Jason Hanson
  • Dan Lynch
  • Rueben Mayes
  • Mark Rypien
  • Eric Williams

The Cougars annually contest the Apple Cup against cross-state rivals Washington. The Huskies lead the all-time series 68-32-6. Washington State also battles the Idaho Vandals for the Battle of Palouse. Wazzu owns the all-time series 53-8-2 in a series that dates back to 1917.

Since its opening in the early 1970s, Washington State has played their home games at Martin Sta...

Loading ...