West Bromwich Albion

Founded In
West Bromwich, England

About West Bromwich Albion

West Bromwich Albion Football Club was formed in 1878 and was one of the founding members of the Football League in 1888. They have spent the majority of their existence in the top tier of English football. They have been champions just once, in 1919–20, but have had more success in the FA Cup where they have triumphed five times. The club's longest consecutive period in the top division was between 1949 and 1973, while from 1986 to 2002 they spent their longest ever period out of the top division. The 2012–13 season is their seventh season in the Premier League. 

The West Midlands is a traditional hot bed of football and West Brom have fierce rivalries with Wolves, Aston Villa, Birmingham City and Coventry City.

West Brom’s home ground is The Hawthorns. It is an all-seater football stadium with a capacity of 26,272. It has been the home of WBA since 1900 when it became the sixth ground to be used by the club. The ground was the last Football League ground to be built in the 19th century. At an altitude of 551 feet (168 m), it is the highest stadium among those of all 92 Premier and Football League clubs.

Major Honours

First Division Champions 1920

FA Cup 1888, 1892, 1931, 1954, 1968

League Cup 1966

Loading ...