West Virginia Mountaineers

About West Virginia Mountaineers

The West Virginia Mountaineers represent West Virginia University and have been active since 1891. They hold the distinction of having the most victories out of the college football programs that have never won a National Championship, although they have still achieved notable success over the years. The teams main historical rivals have included the Pitt Panthers, the Syracuse Orange, the Maryland Terrapins and the Virginia Tech Hokies.

Originally operating as an independent, West Virginia briefly joined the WVIAC during the 1920s. However, it was while competing in the Southern Conference, during the 1950s, that the Mountaineers enjoyed their first period of extended success. Over the course of the decade, the team claimed Conference Titles in 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1958. Over the course of the 1960s, West Virginia would add three more titles.

The years after the turn of the 21st century brought about even greater levels of success, as West Virginia won six Big East Conference Championships, contested ten bowl games and recorded a 95-33 record between 2002 and 2011. Their Conference Championship wins came in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2011. As a result, they took their total haul of Conference Titles up to fifteen and their total number of Big East Conference Titles to seven, having previously won a Big East title in 1993. The team accepted an invitation to join the Big 12 Conference from 2012 onwards.

Amongst the most notable players to play for the Mountaineers are Ira Errett Rodgers, Sam Huff, Major Harris, Don Nehlen and Pat White. Rodgers and Huff have subsequently had their numbers retired by the team as a mark of respect for their contributions.


Loading ...