Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

About Western Kentucky Hilltoppers

The Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, often known more simply as the WKU Hilltoppers, were established as a college football team in 1908. Their main historic rivals include the Eastern Kentucky Colonels, the Murray State Racers and more recently, the Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders. Their rivalry with Eastern Kentucky dates back to 1914 and is known as the 'Battle of the Bluegrass'.

Over the years, WKU have competed in a number of conferences, including the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association, the Ohio Valley Conference and the Gateway Football Conference. Between 1978 and 2008, they were a member of the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision. Since 2008, they have been part of the Football Bowl Subdivision, initially as an independent and then as part of the Sun Belt Conference. In April 2013, the Hilltoppers announced that they would be moving to Conference USA, where they will compete in the league's East Division, from 2014 onwards.

In 2002, the team claimed a NCAA Division I-AA National Championship, after achieving a 12-3-0 record over the duration of the season. Altogether, the Hilltoppers have won 11 Conference Titles, which is made up of seven Division II Conference Titles and four titles at Football Championship Subdivision level. Their most recent win came in the Gateway Football Conference in 2002. In addition, Western Kentucky have competed in a total of three post-season bowl games and currently possess a 2-1 record.

A number of Hilltoppers have gone on to play professional football in the NFL, with some of the more notable examples including David Carter, Virgil Livers and Rod Smart.

Hilltoppers home games have taken place at Houchens In...

Loading ...